Eric Maskin joins Award Committee

 Wednesday, 20 September 2017 11:40

It is our pleasure to announce that Eric S. Maskin has joined the Business for Peace Award Committee. Mr. Maskin is the Adams University Professor at Harvard.  He has made contributions to game theory, contract theory, social choice theory, political economy, and other areas of economics. In 2007, he was awarded the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics (with L. Hurwicz and R. Myerson) for laying the foundations of mechanism design theory, which is the study of how to achieve social or economic goals when information about citizens’ preferences is incomplete.

The Oslo Business for Peace Award Committee works independently of the Foundation when assessing nominated candidates, and the decision of the committee members is final. Its members are Nobel prize winners in Peace or Economics, which ensures that the selection of Honourees is ethically credible, made by individuals outside the business community and of the highest possible moral and professional authority.

The task of inviting new members to the Award committee is made by an Election Committee consisting of former Swedish prime minister Göran Persson, former Norwegian prime minister Kjell Magne Bondevik, and the director of the Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO), Kristian Berg Harpviken. Maskin’s work and engagement places global development together with economics and capitalism in new ways. This is important to the idea of being businessworthy. We would like to thank Mr. Maskin for agreeing to strengthen our Award Committee, and it is our honour to formally announce his election to this role.